The Spirit of Power – Word of the Week

Edition #4

week-4

2 Timothy 1:7 (NLT)
“For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind”

How long does it take the grace of God to run from Him to us? How long does it take the current of electricity to run from the power-station to your home? It is most heartening to think of the wonderful speed with which the help we need is sent to us. Less than half a minute, less than half a second, is enough to make us strong in the strength of our God. “God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power…”

One day I was in trouble and oppressed by many things. It was one of those days where everything seems to go wrong. I was trying to get into my quiet time but was constantly interrupted. Suddenly these words came to me – I could hardly believe they were in the Bible, they seemed so new to my needy heart – “Grace to help in time of need.” I found those words, read them and marked them with joy, and in that moment, the moment of their coming, I was renewed in strength.

Are you in special need today? Blessed be the Spirit of Power – blessed be the speed with which He flies to our relief. This is my word from Him to you: “Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need.” (Hebrews 4:16 NLT)

Leave a Reply

