What The Ticking Clock Said – Word of the Week

Edition #8

week-8

Psalm 55:22 (NIV)
“Cast all your cares on the Lord and He will sustain you;
He will never let the righteous be shaken.”

One night I was awake, all was quiet except for the ticking of the clock. I was in trouble about a situation and could not shake it from my mind. Presently the steady tick-tock, tick-tock began to sound like words:

Commit your care, commit you care,
For I am here, and I am there.
Commit, commit, and do not fear,
For they are dear and you are dear.

“There” of course was the place I was thinking of, and “they” were the people I was thinking of. So I committed those cares to the Lord and the following night the clock sang a different tune:

Where is your care? Where is your care?
You cannot find it anywhere,
You cannot find it anywhere.
I heard your prayer, I heard your prayer.

It was quite true. The care had gone. I could not find it anywhere.

I wonder if any of you who have burdens will let the ticking of the clock become words for you? I tell you of how it took words for me, because I have so often found that little things that help me can help other too.

Leave a Reply

