Don’t Fall Lower – Word of the Week

Edition #22

week-22

Ephesians 5:17 NIV
“Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the Lord’s will is.”

These words caught me and held me as I read Westcott’s comment on Ephesians 5:16-17, “…because the days are evil. Therefore do not be foolish, but…” i.e “because the danger is great and the need to walk carefully is urgent, do not fall to a lower level.” There is always a pull upon us, the enemy wants to pull our thoughts, words and doings down to a lower level. Our own inner weakness, sometimes cowardice or love of ease, sides with him, so the pull is tremendous.

This week, today, perhaps often today we shall feel that pull. By the grace of the Lord let us resist. If we do not resist, the moment we are aware of the pull, we shall fall, just as certainly as the stone thrown up in the air falls down to the ground, pulled down by the invisible power of gravity.

Thank God we can resist. We can pray with real purpose, “Uphold me, and I will be delivered.” (Psalm 119:117 NIV) In the many choices that will be offered to us we can choose our Lord’s help, He never chose the easy way.

Suppose the worst happens, suppose all the help we counted on fails us, we can still refuse to fall to a lower level. “At my first defence, no one came to my support, but everyone deserted me. May it no be held against them. But the Lord stood at my side and gave me strength…” (2 Tim 4:16-17) He can strengthen us to hold our ground and not to fall to a lower level.

Leave a Reply

